New President elected at AGM

posted 11 Apr 2016, 01:19 by CPCA Secretary

Brian Sheppard was elected as President at the well attended AGM held on 16 March 2016.

He replaces Richard Taylor who has held the role for the last 4 years, and did not seek re-election. Richard's experience will continue to be available as he will remain on the committee as Past President.

Brian is new to the Committee and a fairly new resident in Churton Park. He and his wife, Lee, moved here from Ngaio two years ago. They are both excited by the suburb’s vitality and its varied landscape, architectural and ethnic composition.

Having recently retired, Brian says that he is now able to devote his energy to supporting the community.

I bring the skills and experience that I developed in my long career as a senior manager with the Department of Conservation, and from my volunteer experience in support of the Cancer Society and the broader health sector”.

He noted that the Committee has a proud record of advocating the needs of Churton Park’s residents and businesses, most recently by providing vital input to the review of our bus services but also to a raft of other initiatives that residents may just take for granted.

The committee from last year were all re elected, with the exception of Roy Baker, formerly Secretary who has stepped down as he has moved to outside of Churton Park.

The committee membership with the roles subsequently agreed are as follows:

President - Brian Sheppard

Vice President - John Morrison

Past President - Richard Taylor

Secretary - Alison Craig

Treasurer and Gazette editor - Elaine Scoble

Trevor Burr

Vijay Chandrashekar

Dayandra Hettige

Avinash Shrivastava

John Tiley

The guest speaker at the AGM was Kevin Lavery CEO of Wellington City Council, who answered questions from the floor.

The meeting concluded with supper provided by Churton Park New World.